Who We Are

The Northwestern Minnesota Synod (NWMN) is in Region 3 of the Evangelical Lutheran Church of America (ELCA) (3D). It is large geographically, diverse in its culture and educational background, economically challenged but rich in resources and people.


Congregations: 220

Total Baptized Membership: 79,350

Rostered Ministers: 302

Synod Authorized Ministers: 48


Our Synod's Land Acknowledgement

The Northwestern Minnesota Synod of the ELCA is located within the traditional lands of the Indigenous People of Turtle Island (North America), the first Americans. These are the ancestral homelands of the Anishinaabe, Assiniboine, and Dakota people. Today we are called to follow Jesus alongside of our neighbors of the sovereign federally recognized tribes of the Red Lake and White Earth bands of the Ojibwa people. In affirming this land as the homeland of our indigenous neighbors, we recognize the legacies of violence and cultural genocide that occurred alongside the displacement of their communities, as well as the responsibility we all share to not let these truths be buried any longer.